A Gun Proposal (Because I’m Stupid Like That)

I’ve been thinking lately about guns and what to do with them. I’ve been thinking about it in part because my son has suddenly developed a strong interest in learning to shoot. I would chalk it up to superhero movies making guns seem cool, but in our other conversations I detect a deeper motivation.

I think my son is scared of someone having a gun when he doesn’t.

I went so far as to take him to a local gun range so he could see the different types of pistols, rifles, shotguns, etc. He was a little disappointed that he couldn’t shoot live on the range (this place requires shooter to be at least 10 years old), but he liked the fact that I was willing to take him. He even suggested I come back with his sister, who is 10, and get her started.

Kid wants to know at least someone in the house can shoot, I guess.

I don’t own a gun. Never have. I’m not opposed to them. I just never made purchasing one a priority. I think it had a lot to do with my own inherent fears and just the way some of my friends made gun ownership sound like parenting. I’m not a highly technical guy, so the notion of owning something I needed to take apart to oil, clean, and care for just wasn’t appealing.

But anyway, that’s not the point of this blog. The point is this: we need to do something about guns in our country. And I have a proposal. It’s not flawlessly thought through, so if you’re looking to take it apart, you can start there. I can’t even say it’s a serious proposal – it’s just something I was thinking about while cutting grass the other day. I started out thinking about what a Trump presidency would look like versus a Clinton presidency, and somehow it led me to thinking about owning a gun, which then morphed into what would I do if I were in charge of the gun control issue.

So, here’s my half-baked proposal, which comes in two parts:

For anyone who already owns a gun or guns

  1. You must re-register or register your gun with the local authorities. To help facilitate registration efforts, you’ll be invited to bring your guns to the nearest police shooting range.
  2. If you own a gun illegally, you will receive amnesty in exchange for registration. No matter what crimes your gun is linked to, they’re forgiven, no ifs, ands, or buts.
  3. You will submit your gun for a ballistic sample. In other words, you’ll fire five bullets from each of your gun into a collection chamber. Those five bullets will be collected, scanned, and filed into a database, along with your name and information.
  4. You’ll submit to be fingerprinted and offer a DNA swab. This information will likewise be catalogued into the database.
  5. You’ll submit to psychological evaluation and a background check.
  6. You’ll submit to a rigorous gun safety course, which will include being able to pass a shooting test.
  7. You’ll agree to forfeit your weapons and your right to own weapons should you or your gun be caught committing a crime in which a gun is a primary instrument.
  8. You’ll participate annually in a recertification on the gun range and safety training, either at your local police range or at any certified gun shop and range.
  9. You’ll get to leave with your guns.

For anyone purchasing a new gun

  1. You will only be able to purchase your guns at a licensed gun shop and range. Guns will no longer be sold at gun shows or stand alone stores. All gun retailers must have a qualified range on site for training and certification. No exceptions.
  2. You will submit your gun for a ballistic sample. In other words, you’ll fire five bullets from each of your gun into a collection chamber. Those five bullets will be collected, scanned, and filed into a database, along with your name and information.
  3. You’ll submit to be fingerprinted and offer a DNA swab. This information will likewise be catalogued into the database.
  4. You’ll submit to a rigorous gun safety course, which will include being able to pass a shooting test.
  5. You’ll submit to a psychological evaluation and a background check.
  6. You’ll agree to forfeit your weapons and your right to own weapons should you or your gun be caught committing a crime in which a gun is a primary instrument.
  7. You’ll participate annually in a recertification on the gun range and safety training, either at your local police range or at any certified gun shop and range.
  8. You’ll get to leave with your guns.

Miscellaneous

  1. Fully automatic weapons will remain illegal for private purchase.
  2. Ammunition will be sold in two classes: target and live-fire. Live fire ammunition will be sold in limited quantities, unless the purchaser can show cause for needing more (avid hunters, etc). Target ammunition will carry no cap, but will be stored at the range where the owner purchased his or her gun and attends training.
  3. Anyone caught with an unregistered weapon will immediately forfeit that weapon for destruction. The weapon will be tested and catalogued prior to destruction, and the person in possession of the weapon will assume criminal and civil liability for any outstanding crimes connected to the weapon.
  4. Private sales of weapons will be allowed at the owner’s registered gun shop. The purchaser will then be subject to the same standards as anyone purchasing a new gun.
  5. Weapons may be passed down as an inheritance, but will need to be registered at the deceased’s gun shop prior to the close of the estate. The inheritor will then be subject to the same standards as anyone purchasing a new gun.

That’s all I’ve got. Like I said, half-baked, but in light of the Fort Myers shootings, the Dallas shootings, the Orlando shootings, and the fact that we can’t seem to stop shooting one another in general, I thought I’d put it out there for consideration.

The comments are open. Let ‘er rip.

Tell me what you think...

