So This Is New

ImageYeah, I changed the blog again. I’m striving for a more professional site that looks great but is still easy to navigate. I’m not sure this is the one, but for now, I like it a lot.

So what’s new? Well, for starters, the name has changed. Instead of Everyday Faith, it’s now the simple yet boring Jason Eric Brooks. That’s to help get higher in the old Google rankings, and also to connect my writing with me, instead of a brand that doesn’t connect to me as an individual. That sounds conceited, but it’s the way of the modern media world, and I’m getting used to it. Strangely enough, I feel more freedom to take credit for my words – I don’t need to hide behind a descriptive but impersonal brand.

I have the confidence now.

There’s also a new static landing page that gives you an idea what I’m all about as a writer. The blog is now featured on its own page, which is kind of cool. Also, you’ll notice at the top of the page the little black boxes – those are the gateway to some blog extras.

The first box takes you to my sponsor information and subscription link, as well as a calendar that shows you all of the days I’ve posted this month. The middle box (the one that looks like a chain link) takes you to all of my social media connections. You can simply click on an icon and go straight to my profile. The final box is the search feature – click on that, type in a word, and you can see if I’ve written anything on that topic.

As I mentioned, not the easiest thing in the world to navigate, but once folks get used to it, I think it’ll work for a while. Eventually I’ll get around to changing the domain, but as I’m on a budget, I’m trying not to just toss money aside.

So – that’s all for the day. I hope you don’t hate the changes, and as always, I’m open to feedback and suggestions. In fact, I need a logo for that front page, something font driven I think, featuring my initials or something. If you want to take a stab at something, I’d be happy to feature it on the page and give you credit. In the meantime, I’ll continue cleaning things up as we go along, so if you see something ugly or horrific, leave a comment here or on Twitter or Facebook, and I’ll add it to the punch list.

Personally, I’m gonna spend some time staring at the walls of this new place, fighting back buyers remorse. Talk to you later.

Tell me what you think...

