Any Advice On Author Website?

I think this weekend, I’m going to jump off a cliff. I’ve been debating whether or not to shift to a premium WordPress account (or even a self-hosted one), and I’m about to fall off the fence onto the side of doing it. I would get my own personal domain, some extra perks, and not lose any of the wonderful people who’ve followed the blog thus far. It would be an easy transition from just having a blog to having a full-fledged author website.

But there’s this other company I’ve had my eye on, and they’re cheaper, and their websites look so cool…

I don’t know what to do. I’m conflicted. On the one hand, I really like the second company’s product. On the other, I’ve built something pretty good here at WordPress and I’d hate to even lose a fraction of the momentum. I’ve asked around to some experts (thank you Jane Friedman) and I’m confident that WordPress would be a great first step.

But I’m torn.

What do you think? Any advice?

3 thoughts on “Any Advice On Author Website?

  1. I have a suggestion and I may be way off base with this, so if it is a really bad idea or just not possible, please forgive me because I am still learning about blogging and certain things I just don’t know. My suggestion that is off the top is to do both the premium and the new one you like. What about writing on both?

    Like

Tell me what you think...

