Summarizing Yourself

Getting set up to succeed as a writer isn’t easy. I’m doing a lot of reading, a lot of research, and while I sometimes feel hopeless, I’m slowly learning. One of the things that I learned today was the need to be able to sell myself quickly (it’s not as bad as it sounds), or what many people call “an elevator pitch.”

Here’s mine:

My passion is translation – taking ideas and making them accessible for my audience. With over fifteen years experience in diverse fields, I know how to turn a complex thought into an “a-ha!” moment. Whether I am on a stage or writing for the page, my goal is the same: to make sure that my audience comes away understanding.

That’s it. That’s what I want do, be it online, in print, or on stage. The writing part is taking care of itself – there are some exciting things in the works – but the speaking part is going to require some work.

But what about you? How would you pitch yourself, your dream for life, if you had only a few seconds to do it? What drives you? What inspires you? What is it you want to achieve?

Let me hear from you in the comments below. I’d love to know how you summarize yourself.

Tell me what you think...

