What To Do With This Blog?

I’m a crossroads.

I have had this blog for a little over three years now, and while I have grown a lot as a writer, I am now not sure what to do with this blog.

See, I have established a blog on a local website (the Loganville-Grayson Patch) that is basically the same as this one. In fact, over the last year, anything that’s appeared on this blog was submitted first to the Patch. So this blog has become, in a way, superfluous. Redundant. Passe.

And yet…

I can’t bring myself to shut it down. What I really want to do is take it in a new direction. Part of what I love about writing is the ability to put thought down and submit it for discussion. I’ve had the Stump the Chump page here for a while, but next to no one ever uses it because I don’t really write that often about religious things. I mean, themes of faith and God run throughout most everything I write, but I don’t usually dedicate blog posts to just purely theological topics. I usually write about life first, then blend theology in.

But there are times, usually on a daily basis, when I come across someone’s actions or words that make me want to write an expressly theological post in order to get to the meat of a topic. As a pastor, I should write these thoughts down and turn them into sermons, but often the words are needed in the moment – not from the pulpit a couple of days later.

In fact, this has become such a frequent occurrence that my wife has been pestering me lately to just write sermons and post them online. My counter has always been, “But who would read them?”

The counter to that is, who reads what I write anyway?

So I think what I am going to do is turn this blog into something else, something akin to a daily devotional/weekly sermon series that will allow me to get some of the theological angst out of my system and hopefully provide some encouragement or feedback or food for thought to those that read it.

I realize that over 100 people have subscribed to this blog because you liked my posts about parenting, or the occasional random humor that I post. I am prepared to lose you as readers. It will sadden me, but I understand that when you change the rules to the game, some people don’t want to play anymore. If you are one of those subscribers, please allow me to say this:

Thank you. Sincerely. From the bottom of my heart. Your interest in my writing has been a huge part of my development. Your comments, your “likes”, even your subscription itself (whether or not you actually read each day’s offerings) have been a pertinent reminder that writing can connect people. I have enjoyed the journey with you and hope that you will find your way to my Patch blog, where I’ll keep writing about my kids, life, and whatever else comes to mind. If this is where it ends for us, just know that no writer has ever been more grateful for his audience.

In the meantime, I’m going to spend some time thinking about how to repurpose this blog. I think a name change might be in order, first of all. A new design might help too. Beyond that, I don’t know.

One thing is for sure: things are gonna get different around here.

I hope some of you stick around to join me.

3 thoughts on “What To Do With This Blog?

  1. Everything changes. I am used to it. Look forward to seeing what happens. I subscribe to the Grayson Patch, so have not looked here for a bit, but I’ll keep my eyes open.
    LJ

    Like

Tell me what you think...

