Coming To Grips

Karl Turner, with his wife, Marsha and their two children. Pray for them, please.

This won’t be a long post, as I’ve really not that much to say. I’ve spent the majority of the day marveling at the amount of traffic on the blog, almost all of it related to the death of Karl Turner.

There have been over 380 hits on the homepage and the blog post about Karl, most all of them connected to the 298 variants of “Karl Turner” entered into Google. People have been looking for information about the accident, about the funeral, and maybe about how to make sense of it all. In short, people are still coming to grips with Karl’s death.

I know the feeling.

I will drive out to Marietta tomorrow afternoon for the 2:00 visitation at Carmichael Funeral Home. It’s been a long time since I’ve been out that way. Despite the time and distance, there’s still a love for the people of Elizabeth Baptist Church, the place where I met and got to know Karl and his family. And while these are not the circumstances under which I would ever hope to see people again, the fact is that sometimes tragedy is the only that can cut through the busyness of our lives and force us to take stock; to paraphrase C.S. Lewis, it is God’s megaphone for rousing a deaf world.

After yesterday, there are a lot of people wide awake, and I know God is speaking.

May we listen. May He be merciful.

2 thoughts on “Coming To Grips

  1. Jason, thanks for the kind words about Karl. Sorry for calling you Ryan today. Thanks for comming it was good to see you again. Jammy

    Like

    1. Jammy – You’re welcome. Thank y’all for letting me come back. Again, I’m so sorry for your family’s loss – it was a blessing to learn that Karl was not only the man I remembered him to be, but had become an even better man over the years. God give you strength today for his funeral, and in the days to come.

      Like

Tell me what you think...

