The Call: Musings on Ravi Zacharias, C.S. Lewis, and Moving On

For the past three years, I’ve worked for Ravi Zacharias International Ministries in two capacities: first, as the writer and producer of the Ministry’s two radio programs, “Let My People Think” and “Just Thinking” and secondly as the Project Manager for the Training and Special Projects Division. It has been, without question, three of the most formative years of my life.

I can say that because as of March 4th, I will no longer work for RZIM. I will move on to my new job, which is really my old job, which is as the Youth Minister for Chestnut Grove Baptist Church in Grayson, GA. As Yogi Berra put it, “Deja vu all over again.” I’m so excited for the chance to go back to CGBC, which is my spiritual home, and minister to the students and families of our church and community.

But, as with all changes, there are some bittersweet realizations that come with this decision. There are things that I will dearly miss about being part of the world’s finest apologetics ministry. If you are a Christian and have never heard of RZIM, quit reading this right now and check out the website, or go listen to a podcast, or go view one of our YouTube videos. I promise you, you’ll love it.

And that’s the major bittersweet note in my departure–I deeply believe, and have been influenced by, the mission and passion of RZIM, which is helping people understand what Christianity is and why it makes the most sense of the universe we live in. I believe in it so deeply that I’ve changed my whole approach to preaching and teaching, my approach to the grand questions of life.

A second bittersweet note, and truthfully the major heartbreak of my decision, is the people I leave behind. I have been privileged to meet and work with some of the best and brightest minds of our time, and I’m not just talking about the people who trot out on-stage for the Ministry. I’m talking about the support staff in the Norcross office, people whose musings on faith and life and love and everything under the sun have been so important to my own development as a person and minister. I could name names, but really there’s no way to separate one or two from the collective. It’s the whole that makes the Ministry work.

I will name one name, and that’s the fella you see to your left. You may never have heard of him. His name is Stuart McAllister, and he’s been my boss for the last two years. I’ve only had one other boss that has meant more to me, or taught me as much, as Stuart. He has one dominant quality that makes him stand out: his commitment to living in Christ. That singlemindedness runs through everything else that makes up the man; it hones his intellect, sharpens his insights, multiplies his talents, and magnifies his grace. It has made him a blessing to work for. I have enjoyed almost all of our conversations (performance reviews included) to the point of committing much of what he’s said to memory (and what I can’t remember, I’ve printed out and filed away).

I don’t want to elevate him as if he were a god, A) because it would be unfair, and B) because if he found out about it, it would drive him crazy. But he’s been a blessing to work for and is a dear friend.

(Click on the link below for the next page.)

5 thoughts on “The Call: Musings on Ravi Zacharias, C.S. Lewis, and Moving On

  1. Hey bro. I came across your post this morning. Excited for you. There is never a time that I don’t think about you when I drive past CGBC. I would love to connect when you fee like you are a good place with the transition. Cheering you on.

    Like

    1. Thanks, JYoung. I’ve been reading your blog for the past few months and following along with what you’re doing. I’d love to sit down and chat some time in March or April and catch up a bit. I’d also like to talk with you about a workshop idea I have for my parents/church. I’ll email you soon.

      Like

  2. Jason, I have occasionally heard Ravi Zacharias on the radio and I haven’t heard anything from him that I didn’t enjoy. This, however, is the first time I have researched his ministry and I am very suprised that I haven’t heard more about this. Aplogetics have been among my favorite topics of study and discussion since reading “Mere Christianity” years ago. I haven’t seen an ministry focus on apologetics to the extent that RZIM does in my lifetime, but as you quoted above “That is why we apologists take our lives in our hands and can be saved only by falling back continually from the web of our own arguments, as from our intellectual counters, into the Reality—from Christian apologetics into Christ Himself.” Thank you for the “Musings”.

    Like

    1. Josh –

      RZIM is one of the most unique Christian ministries in the world, not just for its focus on apologetics (though there are other organizations that have something to offer in this field), but for the worldwide access they have. I am proud of the three years I spent working with this astounding and gifted (and blessed by God) group of women and men, and will continue to support them the rest of my days. Glad to know that you’re on the apologetic track as well, and I encourage you to bookmark the RZIM website and utilize the content to its fullest. I would also encourage you to attend any RZIM event that might be in your area and do your best to meet with the speaker or other ministry reps who might be there. You’ll be amazed at how open they are.

      Thanks for reading.

      Jason

      Like

  3. I’ve been listening to Ravi Zacharias a lot recently and was first introduced via radio as a kid. (30 years ago.) I spent 10 years in TV news. Working for RZIM one day would be a dream come true.

    Like

Tell me what you think...

