Some Thoughts on Writing and Life

Howdy! If you’re one of the three people still reading this blog on a regular basis, I would like to say: Wow.

You must be bored.

More to the point, I know I would be.

I started out this blog with the great intention of producing some really good short fiction that people would read, get excited about, pass on to their friends, and in the end everything would turn into a million-dollar book deal.

So far, I got the people reading part. And that’s cool. Because I’ve reached a weird place with my writing. I still believe in it, still believe it is my primary talent and purpose in life. I just don’t know what I’m supposed to be writing about.

At least, I thought I didn’t know. Turns out, maybe I’ve known all along, and have just been running from it. I can’t quite put my thoughts into words right now, and that’s what has been bothering me of late. I’ve got a lot to say – plenty of people have fallen victim to my occasional rants on everything from politics to classic rock – and I know I have the talent to express it in a way that makes people connect. It’s a gift of communication. But the “why” of what I can do isn’t so clear. C.S. Lewis termed it the “test of translation” and I’m failing it. Big time.

So I’m going to take a break. Maybe even restart the process. I don’ t know.

But if you don’t hear from me for a while, just know this:

I’ll be back.

One thought on “Some Thoughts on Writing and Life

Tell me what you think...

