Connecting You To The Seam

It’s been a few days since I last posted a blog, so I thought I’d break the silence with a little something worthwhile. My wife, reading the sterling book The Tipping Point by Malcolm Gladwell, suddenly sat up in bed, looked at me and said, “Well, you’re definitely a Connector.”

In case you don’t know what that means, here’s a link to Gladwell’s definition of the word, and I think it fits me pretty well. I like connecting the right people with the right audiences, and tonight’s blog (actually, a reverse posting from my blog for the Loganville-Grayson Patch) is a prime example.

Working as a student pastor, there are some things you get tired of: cheap pizza, break-ups, cheap pizza, drama, cheap pizza and horrible bands.

Today, I want to talk about the last one. Kind of.

Actually, I want to tell you about the antithesis of a horrible band; I want to talk to you about one of the best local bands you might not know.

The Seam.

So long, cityscape...hello, great freaking album.

A four-piece band comprised of Jake Decker, Ben Towhey, Henry Grimes and Brad Dillard, this group manages to avoid the tired sound of many local start ups and achieve something great. They’ve just recorded and released their first EP, So Long, Cityscape, and they are very excited with the result.

After listening to my preview copy, I’m excited for them.

Blending an exceptional sound with deep and inventive lyrics, The Seam is able to take a simple five-song EP recorded on their own and give it a polished, complete sound as if produced by some of Atlanta’s finest recording gurus. The songs, written by the band, are catchy without being trite, lyrical without being overwrought, and memorable for all the right reasons.

Of course, in the interest of full disclosure, I have to tell you that I know three of the four members of the band. Brad Dillard has been my best friend since we were in our early teens, and he’s also one of my most reliable volunteers at Chestnut Grove. In fact, he works with our praise team on a weekly basis.

And Chestnut Grove happens to be my connection with Jake Decker and Ben Towhey. Jake came to Chestnut Grove in 2003 to play guitar for our then fledgling praise band. I remember distinctly this skinny 8th grader warming up for this first night with the band – he played the opening licks to “Crazy Train” by Ozzie Osbourne. I met Ben when he was still in the third grade, before he was even into music or in the youth group.

Sometimes, when you read about bands, you hear horror stories of people who are concerned only with self-glorification – the drugs, the booze, the illicit behavior not suitable for a family publication. You think musician, it seems, and the image of a narcissistic n’er-do-well comes to mind, someone who sleeps ’til noon, leeches off of friends, and lives only for the moment.

But each of these men has shown character far beyond the rock musician stereotype. Brad is happily married with a son on the way; Jake, Ben and Henry are each responsible young men who live for something greater than the moment. It is their solid character that makes for the remarkable passion and creativity in their music, especially their music as The Seam. And their character is one of the reasons they’ve played numerous shows in Atlanta, Florida and Tennesse, and will play even more this fall.

It’s nice when you can share a story, a true local story, like this one. While The Seam may not have arrived yet, they are certainly on their way. If you get a chance head to The Seam Facebook page and listen to some of the preview tracks from the album, and add your name to their list of “Likes.”

They’re well worth it.

Tell me what you think...

