I’ve Published My First Book!

The cover to my first book, "Blue Like the Sky". It ain't fancy or nothing, but it's mine.

If you’ve read the blog for any amount of time, you’ve probably caught on to the fact that one of my goals is to be a published writer. I’ve had success getting into magazines (both print and online), but I’ve never been able to get an agent or a publisher interested in any of the books I’ve submitted.

While I still long for the day that I can sign my name to a publishing contract, my days of waiting for my first book to be published are over.

I’m happy to announce that my first book, Blue Like the Sky, a collection of my blog posts about my grandfather, is now available through Blurb.

Sure, it’s self-publishing, but that doesn’t diminish my satisfaction in the slightest. The books are cheaper than what you would have to pay if they’d been traditionally published (with the exception of the full-color hardback with dust jacket – holy crap, they think a LOT of those puppies. I recommend the black and white version), but that doesn’t matter because profit isn’t my concern. I mean, it’s nice, but I didn’t publish this for the money.

I did this A) because it is my way of coping with my grandfather’s nearing death; B) because I think there are some people who would want to read it as a way of helping them cope with their own grief; and C) just to finally accomplish one of my long-standing dreams.

I share it with you because so many of you have encouraged me with your readership, which has given me confidence in my writing. I don’t want you to spend your money – you can read almost all of the same material right here on this blog – but I wanted you to be able to see the rewards of our partnership. I write, you read, and (hopefully) we all win.

With Blue Like the Sky, I feel like I’ve done something that would make my grandfather proud.

I hope you’ll be proud too.

Thanks for reading, for encouraging, and for believing in me. It means the world.

3 thoughts on “I’ve Published My First Book!

Tell me what you think...

